We honored board members who effectively used inspiration, creativity and ingenuity in board governance.

At our Leaders & Luminaries Award Luncheon on November 10th, we awarded four Leaders & Luminaries winners with $5,000 for their nonprofits, and two "Emerging Board Leaders" with $1,000 for each of their respective organizations. We came together to celebrate the impact of Maine's nonprofit community and its outstanding leaders in 2016.

We're inspired by this year's award recipients:
  • Richard Corbin, M.D., of Oasis Free Clinics in Brunswick
  • Sharon Goguen, M.Ed., of Broadreach Family & Community Services in Belfast
  • Elizabeth McLellan, RN, MSN, MPH, of Partners for World Health in South Portland
  • Allan Teel, M.D., of ElderCare Network of Lincoln County in Damariscotta

  • Emerging Board Leaders - Annemarie Albiston of Aphasia Center of Maine in Carrabassett Valley and Katie Wallace of The Locker Project in Portland.

Presented through The Bank of Maine Charitable Foundation, the Leaders & Luminaries awards have contributed $85,000 in total donations to help strengthen Maine's nonprofit community since 2011. Thank you for being a part of this fantastic effort.

Learn more about our award winners.

See what else we're doing in our community!

Previous Award Recipients 


Catherine Powers, Bath Housing Authority

Harris J. (Pete) Bixler, Bay Chamber Concerts

William Branch, Kennebec Behavioral Health

Lynn Gierie, Robbie Foundation

Emerging Board Leader - Rebekah Smith, Maine Women’s Policy Center


Doug Cutchin, Mid-Maine Homeless Shelter

Sandra Caron, Community Library

Melissa Lin, Portland School of Ballet

William Bridgeo, Kennebec Valley YMCA

Emerging Board Leader -   Susan Koch, Wayfinder Schools

Emerging Board Leader - Richard Barnard, St. Croix No. 1 Firehouse Association


Dr. Vernon L. Moore, Counseling Services Inc.

Mr. Norm Rodrigue, Kennebec Land Trust

Dr. Barbara Covey, M.D., Kennebec Valley Dental Coalition

Mr. Thomas B. Wright, Seeds of Independence

Ms. Susan Brackett, The Opera House of Boothbay Harbor

Mr. Peter Burbank, (in Memoriam), Maranacook Education Foundation

Mr. Horace H. Walton, (in Memoriam), York Hospital

leaders and luminary winners 2016 (Photo: L-R) Greg Dufour, Camden National Bank; Sharon Goguen, Broadreach Family & Community Services; Dr. Richard Corbin, Oasis Free Clinics; Dr. Allan S. Teel, ElderCare Network of Lincoln County; Elizabeth A. McLellan, Partners for World Health; Annemarie Albiston, Aphasia Center of Maine; and Katie Wallace, The Locker Project.