Will be awarded in 2018.


Nonprofit board directors recognized
since 2011.


Awarded to Maine nonprofits
since 2011.

Recognizing nonprofit board members

On October 31, 2018, we awarded four of Maine’s top board members with Leaders & Luminaries Awards and a total of $20,000 in grants through The Bank of Maine Foundation™ for their respective nonprofits. We also honored two Emerging Leaders with awards and $1,000 each in grants for their organizations. These six honorees successfully use passion, innovation and resourcefulness to help our communities thrive.

2018 Leaders & Luminaries
  • Brad Babson, Board President, Brunswick-Topsham Land Trust
  • Gerry Cushman, Board Chair, Maine Coast Fishermen’s Association
  • Ryan Ciriello, Development Committee Chair, Milestone Recovery
  • Samaa Abdurraqib, Board Co-Chair, Maine Inside Out
2018 Emerging Leaders
  • Chelsea Ellis, Board Director, Hardy Girls Healthy Women
  • Steven Bishop, Treasurer, The Game Loft

Send us a note with your email address, and we’ll keep you in the know on important award information, details and more!



See what else we're doing in the community. Learn more


Congratulations to our 2017 Leaders & Luminaries Award Recipients

We were proud to recognize the following individuals on Thursday, November 9th at the 2017 Leaders & Luminaries Awards Luncheon, which took place during the Maine Association of Nonprofits’ forum: “Focus on Board Innovation: Transforming Governance through Shared Leadership.” This year’s award winners include: 

2017 Grand Prize Winner - $10,000 donation
Sherry Cobb, Area Interfaith Outreach (AIO)
2017 Finalists - $2,500 donations each
Dan Shaw, Camp Sunshine at Sebago Lake, Inc.
Don Foerster, Susan L. Curtis Foundation
Guy Langevin, Junior Achievement of Maine
Judith Collier, Sarah’s House of Maine

2017 Emerging Leaders - $1,000 donation each

Melea Nalli, Sea Change Yoga
Michelle Erhard, Maine School Garden Network